

Texas Catholic Conference of Bishops

THE PUBLIC POLICY VOICE OF THE CHURCH

Board of Directors

REGULAR MEMBERS

Daniel Cardinal DiNardo Archbishop of Galveston-Houston

Archbishop Gustavo García-Siller, M.Sp.S Archdiocese of San Antonio

Bishop Patrick J. Zurek Diocese of Amarillo

Bishop Joe S. Vásquez Diocese of Austin

Bishop David L. Toups, S.Th.D. Diocese of Beaumont

Bishop Daniel E. Flores Diocese of Brownsville

Bishop W. Michael Mulvey Diocese of Corpus Christi

Bishop Edward J. Burns Diocese of Dallas

Bishop Mark J. Seitz Diocese of El Paso

Bishop Michael F. Olson Diocese of Fort Worth

Bishop James A. Tamayo Diocese of Laredo

Bishop Robert M. Coerver Diocese of Lubbock

Bishop Steven J. Lopes Personal Ordinariate of the Chair of St. Peter

Bishop Michael J. Sis Diocese of San Angelo

Bishop Joseph E. Strickland Diocese of Tyler

Bishop Brendan J. Cahill Diocese of Victoria

Consultative Members

All other Texas Bishops

Jennifer Carr Allmon Executive Director May 3, 2021

Oppose HB 1927 and a culture of violence

As Catholic Bishops in the State of Texas, we bear responsibility for the pastoral care of people. We oppose HB 1927, known as the "permitless carry" bill. This bill, should it become law, would remove important safeguards to protect human life in our local communities.

As pastors we are alarmed at the aggressive calls for the unfettered presence of weapons carried into public places. Many of our communities have been shattered by mass shootings; many more live in fear of these violent events. We have all seen the loss of lives, the suffering of victims, the inconsolable sorrow at the funerals.

We must confront this growing culture of violence with a commitment to life, a vision of hope, and a call to action. HB 1927 fails to reflect a commitment to life or a vision of hope and instead accomplishes nothing more than to make it easier for potentially violent persons to act in anger or delusion. This will cause people to feel more threatened and more afraid.

Too often we have seen how guns are used in the public forum by someone acting in anger. Instead of relying on law enforcement and our justice system, people with guns in public areas can become the aggrieved, the jury and the judge, in swift and violent sequence. Passions can quickly escalate when a gun is present in a disagreement among people. Instead of resolving issues by peaceful, civil actions, a permitless carry law will further advance the mentality that every individual is a law unto himself or herself. Respect for the dignity of human life and moral responsibility will be further eroded.

HB 1927 risks increasing the number of deaths, as more untrained individuals would be carrying guns in more public spaces. We are also concerned this bill would allow those with mental health issues to carry handguns. This would place our communities at greater risk of harm.



Texas Catholic Conference of Bishops

THE PUBLIC POLICY VOICE OF THE CHURCH

Catholics and all people of good will are urged to contact their state senators and the Governor to support policy and legislative measures that uphold the safety and wellbeing of all persons in our communities and to oppose HB 1927. Law enforcement officials do not support HB 1927, as it makes their oath to protect the public much more difficult. Nor do we, since it advances a culture of violence that puts everyone at further risk.

*Daniel	Cardinal	bland

Daniel Cardinal DiNardo Archbishop of Galveston-Houston Archbishop Gustavo García-Siller, M.Sp.S Archbishop of San Antonio

Bishop Patrick J. Zurek Bishop of Amarillo

Bishop Joe S. Vásquez Bishop of Austin

Bishop David L. Toups Bishop of Beaumont

Bishop Edward J. Burns

+ James Jamayo

Bishop of Dallas

Bishop Daniel E. Flores Bishop of Brownsville

Bishop Mark J. Seitz Bishop of El Paso

Bishop Robert M. Coerver Bishop of Lubbock

Bishop Michael J. Sis Bishop of San Angelo

+ Miles A. Sis

Bishop William Michael Mulvey Bishop of Corpus Christi

+ Michael F. Olson

Bishop Michael F. Olson Bishop of Fort Worth

Bishop James Tamayo Bishop of Laredo

Bishop Stephen Lopes

Bishop of the Ordinariate of the Chair of St. Peter

Bishop Joseph Strickland Bishop of Tyler

Bishop Brenden Cahill Bishop of Victoria