Serving the Church in Texas

Education Department

In cooperation with the diocesan school offices, the Texas Catholic Conference of Bishops Education Department oversees the accreditation of Catholic elementary and secondary schools of Texas. The Education Department is assisted by the Texas Catholic Conference Accreditation Commission and is a part of the state-approved Texas Private School Accreditation Commission.

The Texas Catholic Conference if Bishops Education Department, through its association with the Texas Private School Accreditation Commission (TEPSAC), is recognized by the Texas Education Agency, and is responsible for the implementation of the accreditation process for Texas Catholic schools.

 To assist and give direction to the TCCB-ED, the bishops approved the formation of the Texas Catholic Conference Accreditation Commission (TCCAC). Membership on the commission consists of five Catholic school superintendents, six commissioners-at-large and two bishops, who serve as episcopal liaisons.